人造石(石英)台面板和砌块已导致工人患上严重的矽肺病。工程石(石英)台面由粉碎的结晶二氧化硅和树脂制成。

人造石板厨房配有人造石台面和周围带双水槽的浴室台面

人造石在家庭和商业建筑中很受欢迎,因为它比真石便宜。它向消费者推销的是一种耐用、防刮擦的表面,不易染色且不需要密封。与天然石材不同,工程石材具有一致性和均匀性,无孔设计使其不易滋生细菌。

男子抛光人造石切割一块人造石男子抛光人造石

工程石(石英)台面板材料也称为人造石、人造石、聚结石、复合石、再生石或合成石,其二氧化硅纤维含量比天然石材更高,高达 90-95%(与 45% 的二氧化硅相比)花岗岩 %;板岩 30%;瓷器 15%;石灰石 3%,大理石 2%)。为了制造石材,将二氧化硅精细粉碎成粉末,然后与聚合物树脂、颜料和其他添加剂粘合在一起。

人造石由制造商作为未完成的板材或块产品出售,然后必须由制造车间制造,然后才能安装在消费者家中。因此,当人造石被制造、切割、研磨、抛光、钻孔或安装时,有害的、通常是看不见的纳米级二氧化硅粉尘会释放到空气中。

磨边工程石用压缩空气吹掉人造石灰尘

制造商推荐的“湿”锯法、排气通风和面罩或呼吸器不能有效地保护制造商、切割商、抛光商和安装人员不吸入二氧化硅纤维。人造石具有独特的危险,即大量接触高含量、超细和纳米尺寸的结晶二氧化硅和其他危险的纤维形成颗粒。

对于制造、制造、精加工和安装人造石台面的工人以及在其周围工作的任何人来说,接触硅尘会危害健康。它会导致硅肺病。矽肺是肺部疤痕组织或纤维化的形成。矽肺的症状包括咳嗽、疲劳、气短和慢性呼吸道疾病。

矽肺病图矽肺尸检 肺

从历史上看,当使用天然石材或其他产品时,通常在接触 10 至 40 年后就会患上慢性硅肺病。然而,接触人造石所产生的独特硅尘可能会导致疾病更快发展,通常在接触几年后。因接触而引起的疾病包括但不限于:

  • 慢性矽肺:10-40年发病;肺上叶纤维化;通常长达 10 至 20 年都没有任何症状;随着时间的推移慢慢进展

慢性矽肺X线检查

  • 加速性硅肺病:仅接触 2 年即可早期发病;快速进展;可能导致进行性大规模纤维化(PMF);常常迅速导致死亡

加速矽肺X线检查  彩色 CXR 矽肺

  • 急性矽肺:在接触数周、数月或仅几年内早期发病;引起肺泡蛋白沉积症(PAV),肺部肺泡气囊充满液体;导致肺心病或右心衰竭;常常迅速导致死亡

急性矽肺X线检查

急性和加速性硅肺病是进行性、使人衰弱、无法治愈和致命的疾病,会导致永久性不可逆的肺损伤。患者通常需要 24/7 补充氧气,如果患者存活足够长的时间可以接受肺移植,唯一的治疗方法是肺移植。据估计,人造石工人中急性和加速硅肺病的发病率高达 40-50% 的工人的极端流行水平。所有剩余的人造石工人仍然面临患慢性硅肺病、肺癌、慢性肾病和自身免疫性疾病(如类风湿性关节炎、系统性红斑狼疮和系统性硬化症(硬皮病))的风险。

肺癌图形慢性肾脏病信息图表

Brayton Purcell LLP/Raphael Metzger's client Leobardo Segura-Meza testified about his accelerated silicosis disease on July 20, 2023 at the Cal-OSHA Standards Board Emergency Hearing.

Leobardo Segura Meza Osha 7 20 23 缩略图

The story of Ever Ramon, another engineered stone worker suffering from silicosis, can be watched at Stop Silicosis For Ever.

阅读 Brayton Purcell LLP 客户 Wendy Solano 和她已故丈夫 Jose Raul Garcia Leon 的故事,请点击此处

Watch the story of fabrication worker Jorge Estrella Moreno, Dr. Sheiphali Gandhi, MD, and attorney James Nevin from Brayton Purcell LLP  at Silicosis: la enfermedad causada por cortar la piedra que se usa para cocinas y baños

To view the ordeals of Juan Gonzalez, Victor Gonzalez, and Angel Gallegos, watch here: La enfermedad silenciosa que está amenazando la salud y las vidas de muchos trabajadores inmigrantes aired on December 4, 2022 by Univision. 

View the stories of Gustavo, Victor, and Jose Louis that aired May 13, 2024 on Telemundo.

美国的许多人造石工人都是不会说英语的无证移民,这可能导致疾病发生率的漏报。缺乏文件并不影响人造石工人在安全工作空间使用安全产品的合法权利,也不会影响他或她所受伤害寻求赔偿的合法权利。

While several firms advertise on their websites for these cases, Brayton Purcell LLP, along with co-counsel Metzger Law Group, are one of only four firms that have actually filed artificial stone silicosis personal injury and wrongful death lawsuits for workers and their families throughout California, Oregon, and Washington.  We have filed over 50 cases and have over 100 pending cases in California, Oregon, Washington, and Florida.

All media inquiries should be directed to James Nevin, jnevin@braytonlaw.com (415) 493-3531.  Potential clients should contact us here or (855)335-8606.  Fabrication shop owners and union representatives should contact Hugh Cook, at hcook@braytonlaw.com (855) 335-8606. Attorneys seeking to refer an engineered stone silicosis or lung cancer case should contact us here or contact Hugh Cook, at hcook@braytonlaw.com (855) 335-8606.

 

立即联系律师 – 免费案件评估 – 法律帮助

如果您或您的家庭成员曾担任工程石(石英)(人造)(制造)石材台面的制造商、切割商、抛光商或安装商,并且已被诊断患有任何类型的矽肺病或肺癌,或者认为您可能患有硅肺病,请在线联系我们或致电(855) 335-8606进行免费咨询。即使您是无证移民,您也可能有权获得经济补偿。你有权利。现在是你寻求正义的时候了。

 

要了解安全和医疗资源以及如何减少或消除接触二氧化硅,请单击此处

要了解如何诊断人造石硅肺病并寻找专门治疗人造石硅肺病的医生,请点击此处

要了解工程石制造商和经销商对其产品危害的了解,请单击此处

有关人造石硅肺病流行的当前新闻、重要监管听证会和医学演示以及医学期刊文章的最新列表,请单击此处

要了解硅肺病受害者可获得的金钱赔偿类型、诉讼时效(提起诉讼的截止日期)或人造石的主要被告制造商,请单击此处

Engineered Stone (Quartz) Countertop Silicosis and Cancer Lawsuit

Engineered Stone Silicosis Lawsuits – Brayton Purcell LLP
Demandas de Silicosis de Piedra de Ingeniería
Engineered stone (Quartz) countertop slabs and blocks have caused an epidemic of severe silicosis disease in workers. Engineered stone (Quartz) countertops are made from pulverized crystalline silica and resin.

engineered stone slabkitchen with engineered stone countertop and surroundbathroom countertop with dual sinks

Engineered stone is popular in home and commercial construction because it is less expensive than real stone.  It is marketed to consumers as a durable, scratch-resistant surfaces that is less likely to stain and does not require sealing. Unlike natural stone, engineered stone provides consistency and uniformity, and the non-porous design makes it less prone to bacterial growth.

man polishing engineered stonecut piece of engineered stoneman polishing engineered stone

Also known as artificial, manufactured, agglomerate, composite, reconstituted, or synthetic stone, engineered stone (Quartz) countertop slab materials contain a higher percentage of silica fibers than natural stone, as much as 90-95% silica (compared with for example 45% for granite; 30% for slate; 15% for porcelain; 3% for limestone, and 2% for marble). To manufacture the stone, the silica is finely crushed into a powder and then bonded together with polymer resins, pigments, and other additives.

Engineered stone is sold by the manufacturers as an unfinished slab or block product that then must be fabricated by fabrication shops before it can be installed in a consumer’s home.  As a result, when the engineered stone is fabricated, cut, ground, polished, drilled, or installed, hazardous, often invisible, levels of nano-sized silica dust are released into the air.

edging engineered stoneengineered stone dust being blown off with compressed air

The “wet” saw method, exhaust ventilation, and masks or respirators recommended by the manufacturers are not effective at protecting fabricators, cutters, polishers, and installers from inhaling the silica fibers.  Engineered stone presents a unique hazard of massive exposure to high content, ultrafine and nano-sized, crystalline silica and other dangerous fibrogenic particles.

Exposure to silica dust is a health hazard for workers who manufacture, fabricate, finish, and install engineered stone countertops, and anyone working around them. It causes silicosis.  Silicosis is the formation of scar tissue, or fibrosis, within the lungs.  Symptoms of silicosis can include cough, fatigue, shortness of breath, and chronic respiratory disease.

silicosis graphicsilicosis autopsy lung

Historically, when working with natural stone or other products, chronic silicosis normally developed after 10 to 40 years of exposure. However, exposure to the unique silica dust from working with engineered stone can lead to more rapid development of disease, often after just a few years of exposure. Diseases caused by exposure include but are not limited to:

  • Chronic Silicosis: 10-40 years onset; fibrosis of the upper lobes of the lung; often no symptoms for as long as 10 to 20 years; slowly progresses over time

chronic silicosis xray

  • Accelerated Silicosis: early onset after as little as 2 years exposure; rapid progression; may lead to progressive massive fibrosis (PMF); often rapidly leads to death

accelerated silicosis xray  Colorized CXR Silicosis

  • Acute Silicosis: early onset within weeks, months, or only a few years of exposure; causes pulmonary alveolar proteinosis (PAV), the alveolar air sacs in the lungs fill up with fluid; causes Cor Pulmonale, or right-sided heart failure; often rapidly leads to death

acute silicosis xray

Brayton Purcell LLP/Raphael Metzger’s client Leobardo Segura-Meza testified about his accelerated silicosis disease on July 20, 2023 at the Cal-OSHA Standards Board Emergency Hearing.

Leobardo Segura Meza Osha 7 20 23 thumbnail

The story of Ever Ramon, another engineered stone worker suffering from silicosis, can be watched at Stop Silicosis For Ever.

Read the story of Brayton Purcell LLP’s client, Wendy Solano, and her deceased husband Jose Raul Garcia Leon, click here.

Watch the story of fabrication worker Jorge Estrella Moreno, Dr. Sheiphali Gandhi, MD, and attorney James Nevin from Brayton Purcell LLP  at Silicosis: la enfermedad causada por cortar la piedra que se usa para cocinas y baños

To view the ordeals of Juan Gonzalez, Victor Gonzalez, and Angel Gallegos, watch here: La enfermedad silenciosa que está amenazando la salud y las vidas de muchos trabajadores inmigrantes aired on December 4, 2022 by Univision.

Acute and accelerated silicosis are progressive, debilitating, incurable, and fatal diseases that cause permanent irreversible lung damage. Patients usually require 24/7 supplemental oxygen and the only cure is a lung transplant if the patient survives long enough to receive one. The incidence rate of acute and accelerated silicosis among engineered stone workers has been estimated at an extreme epidemic level of 40-50% of workers.  All remaining engineered stone workers remain at risk of developing chronic silicosis, lung cancer, chronic kidney disease, and autoimmune disorders such as rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus, and systemic sclerosis (scleroderma).

lung cancer graphicchronic kidney disease infographic

Many engineered stone workers in the United States are non-English speaking undocumented immigrants, likely leading to an under-reporting of the disease rates. The lack of documentation does not impact an engineered stone worker’s legal right to a safe work space working with safe products, or to seek compensation for the injuries he or she has sustained.

While several firms advertise on their websites for these cases, only Brayton Purcell LLP, along with co-counsel Raphael Metzger, have actually filed numerous engineered stone silicosis personal injury and wrongful death lawsuits for workers and their families throughout California and have a presence in Washington, Oregon, Utah and many other states.  All media inquiries should be directed to James Nevin, jnevin@braytonlaw.com (415) 493-3531.  Potential clients should contact us here or (855)335-8606.  Fabrication shop owners and union representatives should contact Hugh Cook, at hcook@braytonlaw.com (855) 335-8606. Attorneys seeking to refer an engineered stone silicosis or lung cancer case should contact us here or contact Hugh Cook, at hcook@braytonlaw.com (855) 335-8606.

 

Contact A Lawyer Today – Free Case Evaluation – Legal Help

If you or a family member have worked as a fabricator, cutter, polisher, or installer of engineered stone (Quartz) (artificial) (manufactured) stone countertops, and have been diagnosed with any type of silicosis or lung cancer, or think that you potentially could have silicosis, contact us online or call us at (855) 335-8606 for a free consultation. Even if you are an undocumented immigrant, you may be entitled to financial compensation.  You have rights.  It is time for you to seek justice.

 

To learn about Safety and Medical resources, and how to reduce or eliminate exposure to silica, click here

To learn about how silicosis from engineered stone is diagnosed and to find treating doctors who specialize in engineered stone silicosis, click here

To learn about what the manufacturers and distributors of engineered stone knew about the hazards of their products, click here

For an updated listing of current news, important regulatory hearings and medical presentations, and medical journal articles about the epidemic of engineered stone silicosis, click here

To learn about the types of monetary damages available to silicosis victims, statute of limitations (deadlines to file a lawsuit), or the major defendant manufacturers of engineered stone, click here